Public health services are administered by health units and urban health departments under the supervision of, and with financial support from, the Department. Twenty-five health units have been organized and the northern part of the Province, which is still unorganized, is provided for directly by the Department.

Clinical care in local health units is supervised by the appropriate divisions of the Department; consultative services provide diagnosis and minor treatment for venereal disease; four chest clinics are maintained for tuberculosis at various points in the Province and three travelling mass-survey units are operated; a railway dental car serves certain areas in the northern part of the Province and the Division of Dental Services is responsible for dental-health education programs and clinics in hospitals and other institutions.

Medical services are provided to old age pensioners and other recipients of social assistance under an agreement with the Ontario Medical Association. Necessary hospital care is supplied to indigents through a daily grant paid to hospital boards by provincial and municipal authorities. Hospitals are graded according to size and type and a maximum provincial and municipal per diem grant is fixed for each grade. Tuberculosis sanatoria, operated under provincial or private auspices, are subsidized by provincial grants. Provincial grants-in-aid are made to local boards of health for dental services and for venereal disease clinics. Financial assistance is offered for post-graduate study in public health nursing.

Manitoba.—Health activities are administered in co-ordination with welfare services by the Department of Health and Public Welfare under the direction of a Minister and a single Deputy Minister. The Department has four main Divisions: General Administration, Health Services, Psychiatric Services, and Welfare Services.

The Division of Health Services has four sections: Environmental Sanitation; Preventive Medical Services including communicable disease control, maternal and child hygiene and public health nursing; Extension Health Services, including administration of local health units, diagnostic, dental, hospital and medical care services; and Laboratory Services.

The Division of Psychiatric Services supervises the provincial mental institutions at Winnipeg, Selkirk, and Brandon and a school for the mentally defective at Portage la Prairie. It is also responsible for community mental-health services, including out-patient services, child-guidance clinics, services to courts and child-caring agencies, boarding-home care for the mentally ill, and teaching facilities.

The Province is divided into health regions composed of groups of municipalities; hospital districts, medical-care districts, medical-nursing units, and diagnostic centres are organized within these regions. The Province subsidizes the employment of doctors on a prepayment plan in medical-care districts within the health regions. Thirteen health units are in operation under full-time medical health officers, and there are 22 medical-care districts. Outside these districts, public health nurses provide emergency care, particularly to maternity patients, and operate immunization and child and maternal health clinics.

Diagnostic centres are being established throughout the Province to serve as headquarters for consultant radiologists and pathologists and to furnish laboratory diagnoses, cardiography and electroencephalography free of charge, and X-rays at a small minimum charge, to any resident within the diagnostic area who is referred to the centre by a medical practitioner. Centres at Selkirk and Dauphin are now in operation.